A FIDM Student Weighs In……

24 11 2009

Emily DeTomaso recently received her AA degree in Merchandise Marketing and is currently working on a BS degree in Business Management. She attends the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (FIDM) in California, and naturally she LOVES all things fashion!

The Ohio native devotes the beginning of everyday to catching up on any fashion news.

“Just give me my morning coffee and my fashion blogs, and I’m set!”

Some of her favorite sites inlcude The Sartorialist, JakandJil, Sea of Shoes, fashionista.com, and style.com. She loves the newfound ability to just “pop on” one of these sites to draw inspiration and see what is happening in the industry. But interestingly she notes,

“I don’t think the day will ever come when I give up my subscriptions to magazines and go strictly web. Having the actual magazine in hand, reading the articles, dying over the editorials, and being inspired by models and photographers is something that I can’t get from a blog or a website. Flipping through page after page of fashion delight and glossy images is something that simply cannot be replaced. Both blogs and magazines have their individual purpose.”

I found myself in total agreement with Ms. DeTomaso. At the same time, I was brought back to Jane Buckingham’s inclination that the future of fashion holds a place for both blogs and fashion magazines. At this point, Jane better be correct, because if not, we will have some very disappointed fashionistas out there!